Harvard Baby Blue Support Letter

We are members of the Harvard Law School community. We share a commitment to ensure that everyone has access to the rules of law. We sign this letter to celebrate the release of "Baby Blue"—an open, cost-free version of the rules of legal citation. (See http://goo.gl/NBrNGy).

We believe that Baby Blue will help ensure that no one—whether a prisoner filing her habeas petition pro se; a public interest lawyer zealously representing indigent clients on a shoestring budget; or a first-generation professional pursuing her dream of becoming a lawyer—is denied access to these rules of legal citation. We believe that democratizing the rules of citation increases access to justice for all.

At Harvard Law, one of the schools affiliated with a publication claiming a copyright interest in the Bluebook, we have a special obligation to make this system accessible. When Baby Blue enters a period of public review, we look forward to offering our help and feedback. We encourage law students across the country to join us.

Baby Blue owes its existence to the dedication of Carl Malamud, Professor Christopher Sprigman, and students at New York University School of Law. This letter is modeled after the letter written by Yale Law students. Thanks to their efforts, everyone can freely access rules of legal citation.

Students:

Shivani Agarwal Kendra Albert Tori Anderson Leo Angelakos Mihal Ansik **Brandon Bailey** Isaac Bate Marissa Benavides Nate Bishop Anna Blum Mariam Boxwala Laura Brady Bender Maya Brodziak Isabel Broer Nate Burcham Tony C. Cade Carmichael Thomas Carroll

Emily Chan Yongjin Chang Alice Cherry Abby Colella Annaleigh Curtis Alison Dame-Boyle Alicia Daniel Sam Datlof Kelsey Davidson Pete Davis Hannah Diamond Daniel Dykes Ryan Dykhouse Andrea Els Sam Feldman Megan Fitzgerald Robert Fountain Laura Gault Colette Ghazarian Sarah Gitlin Lisa Gluckstein Aparna Gokhale Benjamin Goodwin Emily Graham Sarah Guerrero Patrick Gutierrez Joseph Hamilton JD Hsin Stephanie Jimenez Anup John Mindy Johnson Alexandra Jordan Anna Joseph Adi Kamdar Simmi Kaur Danielle Kehl Brian Klosterboer Joseph Kolker

Yehoshua Komarovsky Peter Woods Koziol Lauren Kuhlik Dayne Lee Sara Leiman Michael Linhorst Andrea Lowe Kate MacMullin Erik Mortensen Lindsay Mullett Edward Nasser Jake Newman Mario Nguyen CD Paterson **Collin Poirot** C. Taylor Poor Kelly Jo Popkin Titilayo Rasaki Filippo Raso Juliana Ratner Renuka Rege Marielle Sanchez Xiang Siow Olga Slobodyanyuk Ethan Stevenson Ekaterina Svanidze Amanda Sweat Shefali Tandon Gillian Teo Shailin Thomas Mark Thomson Jacqueline Trudeau Amanda Tuninetti Lark Turner Mark Underwood Ujwala Uppaluri Lin Wang Olivia Warren

Jonathan Weinberg Travis West Serena Wu Katie Zimmerman

Staff:

Amar Ashar Matthew Battles Geneve Campbell Kyle Courtney Adam Holland Tiffany Lin Anne Moore David O'Brien Rebecca Tabasky Matthew Zagaja

Faculty:

Yochai Benkler Lawrence Lessig Charlie Nesson

Alumni:

Keith Abrams Conor Ahern Ben Apple Chad Baker Emily Baker-White Leigh Barnwell Matthew Becker Aaron Blacksberg Nikolai Bukharin Michelle Cunningham (nee Berger) Shelmun Dashan Mitchell Epner Joel Fleming Jen Ghaussy Paul Gowder

Audrey grossman Stephanie Guthrie Richard Heppner Jr. Julianne Hill Hallie Jay Pope **Bradley Jenkins** Sarah Jeong Maryum Jordan Anthony Kammer Marc Lauritsen Esther Lim Carl William Lisberger Michelle N. Meyer Sei Young Pyo Vera Ranieri Jacob Reisberg **Daniel Robinson** Alicia Rodriguez Daniel M. Rosenthal Dianne Rosky Charles M. Roslof Wendy Seltzer Esther Silberstein Hannah Corinne Smith David E. Sorkin Loly Sosa Elizabeth Stark Sarah Szalavitz Millie Tadewaldt Robert Taj Moore Jillian Thornton Flax Yana Welinder Kevin Werbach Fong Yue Ting